h1

Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce

March 12, 2010

Today in psychiatry was full of some pretty wild individuals.  I would love to share some of the stories here, but any funny stories I tell end up sounding more like I’m making fun of someone, and any serious stories sound too dark for this lovely sunshine of a blog.

I do, however, think it is fitting to tell the story of my first day on my psych rotation. The outpatient practice where I was working in Columbus serves a lot of the city’s homeless population with psych issues. I was in the lobby, waiting for the person I was working with to come and get me. Within 5 minutes, a woman had come up and insisted that I take the orange furry hat she had evidently brought just for me, AND wanted to see how it looked on me. Then, these 2 other guys could not stop laughing at the fact that my boots looked like I was “wearing my socks on the outside” and one of them said, “I’m gonna buy you some shoes!” Apparently, I look SO bad that even homeless people feel the need to give me charity. Awesome. What’s even worse, is that this was my first day and I was actually trying to look put together. Umm, fail.


In other news, tonight I made this for dinner. I wanted something spicy, and I have been wanting to try this recipe for a long time. Noble Pig had a similar recipe up (inspiration to finally try this recipe!), and I incorporated some of her ingredients into this as well. All in all…quite satisfying. Also, spicy. So, mission accomplished. Try making this on the next rainy day… it’s pretty damn good comfort food, and isn’t even bad for you. Except for the bacon fat. I can’t be perfect!!


Let’s begin, class.

You start by getting some bacon (3 slices) going in a deep skillet, over medium heat I guess. Who cares. Just let it cook.

Now, you need a small onion. Or, if you are like me, you need the 1/4 of an onion that you had in your fridge, and the 2 shallots you found in the back of the pantry. Perfectly reasonable.

Slice those suckers up. Voila:


You also have to chop up some chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. I found a small can of these in the international aisle of a my grocery store, and it looks like this–


I really wanted it to be spicy, so I used 3 of the peppers. It didn’t turn out crazy-spicy, but you could definitely use less without losing much in the way of flavor. The rest can be stored in the fridge for a special day. Like, the day that you finally will yourself to clean out the chipotle peppers that have been in there for 3 months.
Aren’t they pretty though? They also remind me of madagascar cockroaches. I probably shouldn’t say that in a food blog.


These can be kind of messy, but I just kind of squished them around under my knife. Don’t worry about the seeds, and juice, and all of that. It can alllll go in.
By this time, the bacon has probably rendered all of its life-blood, so take it out of the pan and put it on a paper towel-covered plate.

Add the onion/shallots into the rendered fat, and let them cook over med-low heat for a few minutes. In the meantime, I chopped up some garlic. You need 2 cloves.

Ok, here’s the thing. This looks like 2 cloves.. BUT– what if, when you peel off the skin, there are two separate pieces INSIDE?! Then how many cloves do you have?? These are the dilemmas that plague me.


Anyways, you can add the peppers and garlic in with the onions, after the onions have been cooking for a good 5 minutes.


Let everything cook together for about 1 minute. Make sure to stir it frequently, because you don’t want the garlic to burn.

Then, add in a 28 oz can of whole, peeled tomatoes. I picked this brand

because it looked fancy, like they have in cooking shows! But it was cheaper than the Cento brand. I’m not that fancy.
Mix everything together, and get it simmering. I left the lid on. I don’t know why.

Total, you want to let everything simmer for 15-20 minutes. During that time, you need to break up the tomatoes with the back of a spoon. I happen to be totally impatient, so I broke all of them up in the first few minutes. This is probably intuitive to normal people, but it’s actually a lot easier to do this if you let the tomatoes simmer for a while first.



At this point, salt and pepper to taste. I decided to add in some canned, drained kidney beans because I wanted a chunkier dish, with some added nutrition.

Now comes the fun part! Were you wondering what happened to the eggs in this egg dish??


Here they are. I only used two tonight, because.. well because I’m eating alone. (sad) But you can put in as many eggs as you can fit into the pan. First, though, you break the egg into a small dish,

and use this to slide the egg gently into the tomato sauce.

Use a spoon to “scoop out” a small area within the sauce,

and slide the egg in.

Let the eggs cook gently in the sauce (ie lowest of low heat), covered, for about 9 minutes (according to the recipe). According to me, you have to let it cook for at least 15 minutes, maybe 20. I think this may have something to do with the fact that I pulled the lid off at least 10 times. It’s a character flaw.


This same character flaw is the reason I didn’t take a picture of the eggs in the sauce, fully cooked. I was too impatient, and forget to take the picture! Oops.

To make up for it, I will show you what the finished dish looks like!

Toast a piece of bread, and spoon an egg onto it. Also spoon on a nice hefty serving of beans+tomatos+onions+sauce. Top with a little basil, and maybe a little chopped bacon! Feast your eyes on THIS, my friends:

It’s spicy, smoky, beany, TASTY. And really surprisingly filling! I could only eat one and a half of these.

Here is the recipe, adapted from Everyday Food, with additions from Noble Pig.

Eggs in Spicy Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

3 slices bacon

1 small onion, sliced

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1-2 tablespoons of chopped chipotle chilies in adobo sauce

1 (28 oz) can of whole, peeled tomatoes

1 small can of red kidney beans, drained

4 eggs

4 slices of whole wheat toast

Several leaves of basil, chopped

Directions:

Brown the bacon in a deep skillet or pot. Once browned, remove from pan onto a paper-towel-lined plate. Leave rendered fat in pan.

Add onion to pan, and cook on medium-low heat for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add in chipotle peppers and garlic and cook for 1 minute, stirring frequently.

Add tomatoes to pan and stir. Simmer, covered, for 15-20 minutes. Break tomatoes up with the back of a wooden spoon. Salt and pepper to taste.

Add kidney beans and stir to incorporate.

One by one, break each egg into a small dish, and gently slide it into the sauce, into a well created with a spoon. Space the eggs out evenly in the sauce.

Cover and cook eggs gently on low heat for 9-15 minutes, or until egg whites are set. Spoon one egg onto each piece of toast, along with some of the sauce. Sprinkle basil and some chopped bacon on top. Serve immediately.

5 comments

  1. Well this looks totally delicious! Also, your blog made me laugh out loud again. Not because I judge you for your chile pepper nonuse but because I’m pretty sure when I had to throw everything out of my refrigerator last summer I found a tupperware container of those peppers and despite the fact that they’d been there for months, they were pretty much the only thing that hadn’t grown mold.

    P.S. when did you start eating eggs?? Please make this for me next weekend. I’ll be up before dawn so you’ll have plenty of time. Don’t worry, I’ll wake you.


  2. Is that a ceramic knife? What’s your thought on those suckers?


    • I like it. But not any better than the stainless steel santoku knife I have. EXCEPT… this one is purple. So much friendlier.


      • Can you wash ceramic knives in the dishwasher?


  3. Um, I really hope the answer is yes. Because I do.



Leave a Reply

