h1

This Beet’s a Byoot

May 17, 2010

I file away comments like “Oh I hate beets” in the same basket as comments like “I don’t believe in vaccines” or “I only take all-natural supplements”. That would be the “I don’t know what to say to you next, so I’m just going to look at you awkwardly” basket. I have had a lot of practice looking awkward. Does it surprise you to learn that I have been wholly unsuccessful in converting these people to my way of thinking? For that reason, I will not be surprised if no one runs out and makes some roasted beets tonight. I will, however, judge you for it.

Beets are like God’s little vegetably gift to people. They are cheap as hell, full of nutrients (I don’t even know which ones, but tons, I’m sure of it), tender but substantive, and very delicately and DELICIOUSLY flavored. They go with everything!! AND, and, they basically cook themselves. Roasted beets do not equal beets from a can. So if those are the only beets you have tried, please do not go around slandering them. God hates that.

Roasting beets could not be simplererer. You lob off the tops, wrap them in tin foil, and put them in the oven. Seriously, thats it!! Besides peeling them when they are done. Cara taught me how, and she says to put any balsamic vinagrette over them. I must eat them with goat cheese. It has been ordained. I have this great recipe that I will have to post later for a cold beet and yogurt dish which maybe sounds gross but is actually phenomenal. Plus, the yogurt turns this arrestingly pink color that makes you feel like you are eating something radioactive. But guess what? It’s ALL NATURAL.

The first draft of this post had a lot more medicine/bitching stuff in it. But I was worried it would alienate readers. I only have like 3.  I need to pick out a very neutral medicine-y story for next time.


So the beets… here they are, prepped for the oven.  Cara says you have to put them in a glass baking dish. I have been thinking about this since I started baking them today, and I haven’t been able to come up with the rationale behind it. Let me know if you do.

Aaaand, here they are 1 hour and 15 minutes of 400 degree baking later:

They look the same.

So you let them cool, and then peel the outer skin off. It comes off really easily.

I took the pictures outside on my balcony, for lighting purposes. This is when my crazy neighbor downstairs saw me and said “Roasted beets?!? I never heard-a thhhemmm.”  Ugh.

Next, I diced them up, and tossed them in some homemade balsamic vinagrette. I used some dijon mustard, raspberry vinegar, olive oil, and a pinch of salt. Too easy! Sprinkle a little more salt over the dressed beets, and chill them before you eat them!

Just TRY them, picky eaters (Lindsey)

10 comments

  1. I will try them, as I was pleasantly surprised about the split pea soup. And your comment made me laugh out loud.


  2. Make me some beets! And make some for your neighbor, too. She can take them with her all-natural supplements. When you come home I’m putting you to work – better get good at peeling beets!

    Also a tip: wear rubber gloves when you peel them or you might end up on a date with purple fingers and he’ll be too polite to ask what your deal is and instead he’ll just assume you’re weird.


    • Hahaha!! I was going to mention something about that but forgot! hahaha I hope you were too awkward to explain, and both of you sat in awkward silence looking at the purple fingers. Oh beets.


  3. This recipe is so simple and so good, it’s killer. Great to serve at a first date dinner; my date had to call me back because her pee turned red, and I got a second date out of it!


    • Haha! That’s a tactic I haven’t heard before.. very tricky! What did you serve for the second date?


      • The second date involved potato-leek soup, and brussel sprouts au gratin. Sealed the deal. You must try the beets warm with crumbled bleu cheese and toasted pecans, that pe-cahns, not pee-cans, and aged balsamic, preferably 18 year, for the sweets! Too die for! I think I might be getting married again. That Uncle Patty poster is strange. She should know that all things French are soft. Especially their military. Need I remind you……. two world wars, Vietnam, etc.


  4. I made the byoots last night and they were pretty damn scrumptious … even without any goat cheese. Olivier gobbled them up, too. But here’s an odd thing: The beets in France are soft on the outside! Went to three different green grocers and the condition of the beets was the same at each one–so I caved and got two softish beets. Since you were taking your boards, I called to Cara to check if soft was ok–she basically said that it wasn’t. But I want you to know that your recipe is so foolproof that even French beets turned out great!!
    Glad to hear those awful boards are over. Go watch some COPS or that Jersey show you’re so fond of….


    • BEETS!! I’m so glad you liked them!! La victoire. Oh Olivier.. Do you think we are officially friends, now that he’s eaten something off my blog? I say yes. I DID watch Jersey Shore yesterday, and it was magnificent.. just what the doctor ordered! Ha.


  5. PPS> the leftovers of the beets tipped in my fridge. When my intended’s roommate turned up missing, the spill led to a lengthy homicide investigation. this could be a dangerous recipe.


  6. PS i once knew a woman who identified herself as “Uncle Patty” in law school. She was a bit of a freak. Large family from Milwaukee. She used to walk like a man. Kind of freaky. this was in Cleveland, about 1985. I’ll bet she’s never eaten beets.



Leave a Reply

