h1

My public demands it!

October 26, 2010

By that I mean, one person told me to add another post, once. It counts!

There are no good excuses. I won’t even try. It’s a vicious cycle of procrastination and guilt about the procrastinating, and before I know it 78 months have passed. Plus, if I don’t post anything, maybe you won’t remember that I haven’t posted anything in 178 months. So it’s kind of your fault, is what I’m trying to say.

I haven’t cooked much of anything over the past several months. I had been living out of a suitcase (high school sports dufflebag.. too broke for actual luggage) and the trunk of my car, and staying in hotels. For reals. I guess I felt like that was license to eat every meal out. I never thought I would say this, but I actually got sick of eating out. I so desperately wanted to make myself some oatmeal or something else homey-y, so I did that once when I was in Toledo for a weekend. Then I had to do the dishes with old oatmeal stuck to them, and I got over that.

I spent July here:

Maybe it’s the fact that I had heard the name spoken as if it were a High Holy Day since I was little, maybe it’s the fact that the name reminds me of sandwiches, or maybe it’s just that they let me in here, but I definitely drank the kool-aid… I thought this place was the shit. It was one of the first places I’ve worked at that I would be comfortable bringing my family to for treatment, and where excellence is the rule, rather than the exception. It was like being star-struck, nerdy medical school style. Swear to god, the lobby is all marble and Dale Chihuly pieces. Plus, the service I was on treated a famous actor/director for a super-rare disease. True story! I asked him if he liked Dlisted and Real Housewives and stuff, but he was too encephalopathic to answer. I’m kidding!! I stood outside the door and wrestled with the idea of introducing myself, then turned around like 8 times awkwardly and walked away. I wish I could say his name, but I’m legally bound not to, and my sister is a lawyer and reads this. And my dad totally guilt-tripped me for telling him. (Also, a lawyer). Fuck HIPAA.

Also kidding!! Please still come to me when you need a doctor. Ugh, enough jokes, I’m annoying myself.

So then I spent August doing research in Detroit (dump), September doing radiology up here, and October studying for the boards.

I take the board exam tomorrow. I took one about a year and a half ago, and I was so nervous I almost gave myself an ulcer. This year, I’ve just got too much shit to worry about right now.. I don’t have enough energy to give it the appropriate hand-wringing! But after that is over with, I really am going to post some posts. I’ll tell you all about how much fun trying to get a residency is, and show you how I do Halloween. Get excited!

6 comments

  1. I loved this. I definitely look forward to the next entry. I now need your e-mail address so that I too can bug you about this. I’m hoping you get Mayo for your residency. When do you find out.


    • I wont find out about the match until January! But matching at Mayo is a long stretch! Really long, if you are me. eeee..nervous!


  2. I AM EXCITED!!! This was an excellent bday present.

    I will come to you when you’re a doctor, but do you want to know something funny that I did too? I was going to just send you a letter about this, but then what would I comment on? I wrote down on a resume once that I was in charge of HIPPA in an office, and I thought it was so impressive. Until, that is, the day I went to interview with Dad’s friends and one of the attorney’s SECRETARY (who I assume knows nothing about my brilliance) knew enough to mark that actually it is “HIPAA” – I hate her for that. I did get an offer though, so I assume she was fired for her impudence. I suppose if she was likely well-versed in statutes that would be one thing, but whatever. I’d still hire you for a doctor in a heartbeat. Then you could cook for and repair me at the same time!

    I can’t wait for your next food post, I’ve been sharing your blog with everyone and seriously everyone loves it, the only thing the request is MORE. I have a request: a delicious hearty soup recipe or a bread recipe because who knows how to cook bread? Nobody, that’s who.

    Screw requests. I’m kidding!!!


  3. I almsot had an ulcer when I saw you posted! Twice! Once regarding your eyebrows and once regarding the Mayo Clinic (Fuck HIPAA). Both related to cooking.
    What’s the point of being a boring old doctor with loans and tests if you can’t tell your favorite sister’s favorite friend who the famous guy was and his condition. I know things, Laura. I could help him. You’re verging on doing him a greater disservice by being all high and mighty about it while at the same time waving it in my face. I suggest filling me in. And soon. Was it Secrest? Doesn’t he do something with housewives? Ifa it was Kathy, D-List Kathy, she wouldn’t mind – trust me.


  4. Also, what’s it take to get on your blog roll. You’re on mine. Together we can take over the blogging world of sarcastic, old-timey banter.


  5. Nice! I didn’t realize i had so much pull in the food blog universe. Kate’s a huge fan of Fall flavors so i’m looking forward to the post.



Leave a Reply

